When the 2018 ANA starts next year they will show the video of So Yeon Ryu jumping into Poppy’s Pond after her victory but what golf fans will remember is the four stroke penalty that Lexi received going from 12 to 13 on Sunday for something that happened on Saturday.
For those of you that don’t play golf or sit at home watching tournaments living to call in rules violations just because, you are not going to like this post. Are you sitting there watching the 1986 Masters to see where Jack possibly made an error so that you can take that victory away from him to?
Was there a infraction made? It is hard to definitively tell if she placed the ball in a different spot from the camera angle we all had. So for the LPGA rules official to give a four stroke penalty for this is not imaginable.
This ruling is almost as bad as the one they gave Dustin Johnson at the US Open. The fact that she regained her composure to get a chance to win was amazing. The LPGA Rules Officials should be ashamed of themselves for this.
Even Tiger addressed this on Twitter today.
Dads Say So kudos to Lexi for stepping up and birding the next hole. Then giving herself a chance to win in regulation with an eagle on 18 and going to a playoff. The USGA and R&A need to come together and figure out a timeline for when rules are allowed to be enacted. This was not brought up in the new rules that they have proposed and for tournament golf it needs to be addressed. Its disappointing that you didn’t get the win. It’s a shame! You should have won by four not lost in a playoff.